Profiling Photographers – Fiona Brook

Welcome to the third instalment of ‘Profiling Photographers.’ I first met Fiona when judging at St.George Leagues Photographic Club. I hope you find her images and attitude to image-making as inspirational as I do. Thank you, Fiona for contributing to this series.

Gear:

Nikon D600;
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8; Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8; Tamron 150-600mm f/5-6.3
Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro; Lensbaby Composer; Samsung Galaxy S5

Why did you choose Photography as your medium of communication?

My father was a very keen photographer, and I guess I followed his example. Ever since I discovered that photography meant I could make and keep images, I have loved it!

Untitled1

Which Photographers have been the greatest influences on you & why?

1. My Dad – because he was the first and foremost photographer in my life. Subsequently, his sister (my aunt) was a great influence.

2. So many photographers at the St George Leagues Club Photographic Society, because that is where I rediscovered my photographic self 7 years ago.

3. Current influences are Sue Robertson, Rob Smith, Karen Scrimes, Des Crawley, John Swainston, Alister Benn, Darren Jew . . . etc, etc, too numerous to mention!

4. Then, there are the classics of course – Cartier-Bresson etc. Again, too numerous to mention.

What inspires you to create the type of images that you do?

The extraordinary power of nature is my primary inspiration. I am constantly drawn to natural phenomena and their inherent beauty. After winning the biology prize at school back in Scotland in the 1980’s, I was introduced to the films of David Attenborough. Since that time, my biggest dream has been to make wildlife films that document the extraordinary wonders of this amazing world we live in.
Maybe one day . . .

What do you think makes your style unique?

It took me ages to find my “style”, but I think in recent times I have found an impressionistic style that says what I want to say with my wildlife photography (especially birds).

 

Untitled2

Do you have any advice for an aspiring photographer?

I still think of myself as an aspiring photographer, so it’s difficult for me to give advice in that regard. If I were to give general advice about life, it would be – DON’T BE AFRAID! Fear is a disabling emotion 🙂

What is the next big adventure for you, photographically?

I have no idea – that’s what makes it a big adventure!

To view more of Fiona’s images, please click on the following link

http://www.fionabrookphotography.zenfolio.com

Leave a Reply

